1 minute read

FAQ Friday: "What if the Temptation to Watch Porn is too Overwhelming?"

Last Updated: April 22, 2015

Luke Gilkerson

Luke Gilkerson has a BA in Philosophy and Religious Studies and an MA in Religion. He is the author of Coming Clean: Overcoming Lust Through Biblical Accountability and The Talk: 7 Lessons to Introduce Your Child to Biblical Sexuality. Luke and his wife Trisha blog at IntoxicatedOnLife.com

Accountability software is designed to help an adult Internet user surf the Web with purity. The user selects accountability partners to receive detailed reports of everywhere they have been online. This effectively limits the temptation to view pornography and other sexual content online.

At times the temptation to view such things can be overwhelming. This is why Covenant Eyes software has the “Panic Button.” If you find yourself tempted beyond control, the Panic Button allows the user to cut off all Internet use – all Web surfing, email, chat, instant messaging, anything that accesses the Internet to work.

Internet use is cut off until the user calls in to our Customer Support Team, at which time it is turned back on.

An email is also automatically sent to the user’s designated accountability partner(s) when the button is used.

  • On a Windows computer, the Panic Button is accessed by right-clicking the CE icon in the taskbar, then clicking the “Panic Button.”
  • On a Mac, either left-click on the “eye” icon on the taskbar or cntrl-click on the “eye” on the dock, and click “Panic…” A warning box comes up, warning that all Internet use will be cut off, and asking for confirmation. If you click “Panic” at that point, all Internet use will be suspended.

People can also use the “Panic Button” as a security measure when you are away for an extended period of time from your computer. The “Panic Button” ensures that no one can use the Internet on your computer while you are away.