If multiple people are sharing one computer profile on a Mac®, you may see multiple members’ activity on one report. This can cause confusion and you may have trouble deciphering what activity belongs to each person.
Why should I use multiple Mac® profiles?
We highly recommend that each person has his/her own profile on a shared computer for the following reasons:
- Report Accuracy: If you’re the only person who knows the password for your profile, your report will always reflect your activity and not the activity of anyone else on your account or that uses the computer.
- Convenience: When you’re done on the computer, simply hit “Control”+”Command”+”Q” and the next person who wants to use the computer has to sign in with his/her own password to access his/her profile.
- Security: Your personal information is protected because only the people you share your password with can access your computer profile.
How do multiple Mac® profiles work with Covenant Eyes?
Each person who uses the Mac® also needs their own Covenant Eyes username so that they can sign in to the Covenant Eyes software on his/her own Mac® computer profile. To accomplish this:
- Create a Covenant Eyes username for each member on your account.
- Create a Mac® computer profile for each member.
- Install Covenant Eyes on the main Mac® profile (the Administrator computer profile) and then Covenant Eyes will automatically install across all the Mac® profiles.
- When each person is done using the computer, they should hit “Command+Control+Q” on the keyboard and the main log-in screen will appear. Whoever wants to use the Mac® next will have to use their own profile username and password to access the computer.