Service Interruption on Mac®

On Mac® computers running Catalina (macOS 10.15) or higher, Covenant Eyes needs access to the “Screen Recording” permission in order to screen capture your activity. If Covenant Eyes doesn’t have access to Screen Recording on Mac®, you’ll see this message on the report:


What is Screen Recording?

Screen Recording is a privacy setting on Mac® computers. When programs (like Zoom and Covenant Eyes) have access to Screen Recording, they can monitor and view your screen.

What does this message mean?

Our software (starting with version 3.3.7) detects if Screen Recording is enabled for Covenant Eyes. If our software detects that Screen Recording is disabled, then Service Interruption message will appear on the next report. There are two ways Screen Recording can be disabled:

  1. The member upgraded their macOS® (operating system) to Catalina or higher (10.15+) and didn’t realize they need to enable Screen Recording for Covenant Eyes.
  2. The member intentionally disabled Screen Recording for Covenant Eyes on the Mac®. If this is the case, be sure to re-enable Screen Recording for Covenant Eyes.

How is this information helpful to me?

Covenant Eyes includes this message on reports to notify allies of potentially harmful online usage that we weren’t able to monitor. Allies, while being supportive, should consider that this message may have occurred because Screen Recording was disabled by the member.

For more information about the message:

  1. From the Service Interruption message on the report, select the “Inspect” button.
  2. On this screen, you’ll see: the name of the Mac, the date(s) and time(s) the Screen Recording permission was disabled, and how long it was disabled each time.

Not sure how to have a conversation? These posts may help: How to Be the Best Ally Ever and How to Respond When Your Friend Looks at Porn.

How can I prevent this from happening in the future?

To prevent the member from accessing and disabling Screen Recording on a Mac®, create a “Standard user” profile for them to use on the computer. Standard user profiles cannot make changes to system preferences (like Screen Recording) without the Mac® computer’s Administrator password (which the ally, spouse, or friend can keep).