How do I limit adult material on iPhone®?

Apple provides free parental controls, called Screen Time, for iPhone® and iPad®. Screen Time has many features: app time limits, adjustable content settings for each age, device passcode restrictions, and much more. This article will walk you through how to set up Screen Time and some of its features:


Enable Screen Time and Create a Passcode

Follow these steps to turn on Screen Time and use its parental control features:

  1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone® or iPad®.
  2. Select “Screen Time” and then tap “Turn On Screen Time.”
  3. A brief description of what Screen Time can do will appear. Tap “Continue.”
  4. You will be asked whether you are setting the device up for yourself or your child. For the sake of focusing on the content restrictions best paired with Covenant Eyes, select “This is My iPad®/iPhone®. (If you select This is My Child’s iPad/iPhone, you’ll first be directed through setting up Downtime and App Limit restrictions.)
  5. You’ll be directed to the Screen Time settings. On this screen, select “Use Screen Time Passcode.”
  6. Then enter in a 4-digit passcode (the Covenant Eyes member should not know this code). You will be asked to re-enter the code for verification. Please note: This is an Apple operating system passcode. Once the passcode is set, there is no way to reset or retrieve it if it’s forgotten.

Back to the top


Activate Content & Privacy Restrictions

This is basically Apple’s filtering system for your phone. In order to use it, Screen Time must be enabled as described in the previous section.

  1. Open the Settings app and select “Screen Time.”
  2. Select “Content & Privacy Restrictions.”
  3. To activate “Content & Privacy Restrictions” be sure the toggle switch is slid to the right, it should be green.

Back to the top


Limit Adult Websites

This setting is a general blocker that limits access to many adult websites.

  1. Within Screen Time, tap “Content & Privacy Restrictions.”
  2. Now tap “Content Restrictions.”
  3. Select “Web Content”.
  4. By default, “Unrestricted Access” is the selection. Change that to “Limit Adult Websites.”
  5. Due to the subject matter on our site, the Limit Adult Websites setting will block your access to covenanteyes.com. You will need to add these four URLs to the “ALWAYS ALLOW” section:
    • http://www.covenanteyes.com
    • https://www.covenanteyes.com
    • http://www.api.cvnt.net
    • https://www.api.cvnt.net

     


The NEVER ALLOW List

The “Limit Adult Websites”  feature (from the previous section) will attempt to block explicit websites, but it’s not perfect. Some sites that contain adult material are not automatically filtered out. So use the NEVER ALLOW list to help you customize your filtering experience:

  1. Within Screen Time, tap “Content & Privacy Restrictions.”
  2. Now tap “Content Restrictions.”
  3. Select “Web Content”.
  4. Just below NEVER ALLOW tap “Add Website.”
  5. Type in the website you want to block, and then tap “Done.” Here is a list of websites that may contain mature content. Add them to the NEVER ALLOW list if you’d like to block them:
    • dogpile.com – A search engine that doesn’t reliably enforce safe search
    • ecosia.com
    • excite.com – A search engine that doesn’t reliably enforce safe search
    • flickr.com – An image-based website with thousands of pictures
    • giribu.com
    • imagur.com – A site that has a lot of GIFs and images
    • instagram.com – A popular social media website that allows people to post and share images
    • reddit.com – A popular social media forum where people discuss mature content and themes
    • tumblr.com – A popular social media forum where people discuss mature content and themes
    • twitter.com – A popular social media site where people discuss varying topics and content
    • yandex.com – A Russian search engine that doesn’t have safe browsing
    • yandex.com.tr
    • yandex.com.ru
    • yandex.com.ua
    • youtube.com – The world’s most popular video-sharing website
    • https://youtube.com – This YouTube link will specifically block YouTube videos sent via iMessage® (text)
  6. The site(s) should now be listed in the NEVER ALLOW section and will be blocked across your device.

Back to the top