How do I set up Screen Time on iOS 14?

Screen Time gives you control of an iPhone®/iPad®. When using Screen Time, you have the power to disable Safari, AirDrop, even the ability to install apps. This article highlights the Screen Time features that work well with the Covenant Eyes app.

Note: We are currently investigating a connection issue that seems related to iOS 14, go here for details and updates.

If your device is using iOS 13, instructions specific to that operating system are found in How do I set up Screen Time on iOS 13?

Jump to:


Enabling Screen Time and Creating a Passcode

  1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone® or iPad®.
  2. Select “Screen Time.”
  3. Now select “Use Screen Time Passcode.”
  4. Then enter in a 4-digit passcode (the Covenant Eyes member should not know this code). You will be asked to re-enter the code for verification.
  5. Late in March 2020, Apple released a new feature in iOS 13 called Screen Time Passcode Recovery. It exists in iOS 14 as well, so, if you are concerned about forgetting the Screen Time passcode, then enter an Apple ID on the Screen Time Passcode Recovery screen.
    SUGGESTION 1: For some members, it will be a good idea to let an ally change the password for that member’s Apple ID before setting up the Screen Time Passcode. This way the struggling member will be less able to “recover the passcode” to get online with being monitored.
    SUGGESTION 2: For some members, it will be a good idea to let the an ally enter their own Apple ID on this screen. In the event that the member wishes to “recover the passcode,” the request will go to the ally’s Apple ID and not the member’s.
  6. If you selected “Cancel,” you’ll be asked to confirm that choice.
  7. Whether you skipped “Passcode Recovery” or not, you should now have created a passcode!

Back to the top

Disabling Safari

For the best accountability experience, use Screen Time to disable Safari and make Covenant Eyes your only browser.

  1. After opening the Settings app, select the “Screen Time” option.
  2. Now tap “Content and Privacy Restrictions.”
  3. Select “Allowed Apps” and enter your Screen Time Passcode.
  4. On the Allowed Apps screen, tap the switch to the right of Safari. This will disable Safari for this device.
  5. Exit the Settings app and confirm that Safari is disabled. If Safari was located in the Dock, it should now be gone.

Back to the top

Disabling the Option to Install/Delete Apps

In some cases, it is wise to disable the option(s) to install and/or to delete apps.

  1. Open the Settings app, and select “Screen Time.”
  2. Tap “Content & Privacy Restrictions.”
  3. Now, tap “iTunes & App Store Purchases” and enter your Screen Time passcode.
  4. Select “Installing Apps” and then select “Don’t Allow” to disable the ability to install apps.
  5. Select the “<Back” option in the upper left-hand corner.
  6. You’ll return to the iTunes & App Store Purchases screen and be able to view the changed setting.
  7. In some situations, it is best to also change the setting for “Deleting Apps.”
  8. In other situations, it makes sense to allow the installing of apps, but not the deleting of apps.

Back to the top