This article applies only to members using our Internet Accountability service and, of those members, only the ones that are using the Filter feature.
What are override rights?
When a Filter-using member has override rights, they have the ability to allow a blocked page through the Filter without contacting their Filter Guardian. On Windows, the blocked page is added to the Allow list; it’s no longer blocked. On Mac, Android™, iPhone®, iPad® and iPod touch®, this override lasts only until either Covenant Eyes is refreshed or until the member signs out of Covenant Eyes.
Because the override feature is disabled by default, it must be manually enabled by the person controlling the Filter, the Filter Guardian.
Why would I enable the Filter Override?
Some adult members merely wish to block themselves from inadvertently viewing objectionable sites. These members might want Filter Override rights for the purpose of overriding the Filter to view a site they deem appropriate, without contacting their Guardian.
Ultimately, Filter Override rights are meant to simultaneously provide protection and allow members to make informed decisions about what they view online.
If you are a Filter Guardian, be sure to have a conversation with the member about why they would use the Filter Overrides, before deciding whether or not to enable them.