iPhone® Downtime and Covenant Eyes

You may want an additional guardrail between you and a bad decision. Consider using Apple’s Downtime feature:

Think of this as a nap for your device. When you schedule Downtime in Settings, only phone calls and apps that you choose to allow are available. Downtime applies to all of your Screen Time-enabled devices, and you get a reminder five minutes before it starts.

Some members have found it useful for their personal growth to combine the Downtime feature and Covenant Eyes. Follow the instructions below to set up Downtime on your iPhone®/iPad®.


Create a Screen Time passcode

  1. Open the Settings app on your iPhone® or iPad®.
  2. Select “Screen Time.”
  3. Now select “Use Screen Time Passcode.”
  4. Then enter in a 4-digit passcode (the Covenant Eyes member should not know this code). You will be asked to re-enter the code for verification.
  5. Late in March 2020, Apple released a new feature in iOS 13 called Screen Time Passcode Recovery. It exists in iOS 14 as well, so, if you are concerned about forgetting the Screen Time passcode, then enter an Apple ID on the Screen Time Passcode Recovery screen. For some members, it will be a good idea to let an ally enter their own Apple ID on this screen. In the event that the member wishes to “recover the passcode,” the request will go to the ally’s Apple ID and not the member’s.
  6. If you selected “Cancel,” you’ll be asked to confirm that choice.
  7. Whether you skipped “Passcode Recovery” or not, you should now have created a passcode!

Back to the top

Set up Downtime

  1. After opening the Settings app, select the “Screen Time” option.
  2. Now tap “Downtime.”
  3. Once you turn Downtime on, you’ll make selections about the times, days, and so on.
  4. You and your ally will select the apps that are Always Allowed. If you have a browser in there, make sure it’s Covenant Eyes.
       

Back to the top